Diwali 2026 EV price cuts on electric cars
Five electric cars just got Diwali 2026 price cuts starting at ₹4.69 lakh via Battery-as-a-Service — but renting the battery changes the real cost. Here's the math.
📋 Table of Contents
Scroll through social media this week and you'll see it everywhere: "Electric car for ₹4.69 lakh!" The number is real — Tata Motors put it out on 29 September 2026 when it expanded its Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) scheme to six electric cars. Within days, MG, Maruti, and Hyundai had similar "Diwali price cut" headlines running on the Comet EV, e Vitara, and Creta Electric.
None of these are discounts in the normal sense, though. They work by splitting the car from its battery. We went through the actual published numbers — upfront price, per-kilometre battery rent, and what that adds up to over a few years — so you can tell a genuine deal from a shifted cost before you book one this festive season.
🎆 What's Really Behind the ₹4.69 Lakh Headlines
Battery-as-a-Service isn't a Diwali invention. MG tried a version of it in India on the Comet EV and ZS EV a couple of years back. What changed in 2026 is the scale and the timing: Tata rolled it out across six models in one go, Maruti and Hyundai built it into their first electric cars from day one, and all three timed the push for the exact week festive car-buying peaks.
Under BaaS, the car's body, motor, electronics, and standard warranty belong to you from day one. The battery pack stays with the carmaker or its finance partner, and you pay for using it on a per-kilometre basis — on top of whatever you pay for the rest of the car. Think of it as a prepaid data plan for your battery: cheaper to switch on, but the meter never really stops.
Why would a carmaker want to do this at all? Batteries are typically the single costliest part of an EV, often a third or more of the sticker price. By carrying that cost separately — either leasing it through a finance arm or absorbing it as a subscription — the manufacturer can advertise a far more attention-grabbing starting price without actually discounting the car itself. It's a pricing strategy as much as a customer convenience, and festive season is exactly when a lower headline number gets the most footfall into showrooms.
In short: BaaS lowers the price tag by pulling the single most expensive part of an EV — the battery — out of the sale, and bills you for it separately, by the kilometre, for as long as you keep driving it.
🚗 The 5 Electric Cars With Diwali 2026 BaaS Pricing
Here's what each of the five actually costs, either way, and what you get for the money.
Tata Tiago EV
₹4.69 Lakh (BaaS)Currently the cheapest electric car you can drive home in India. The base Smart 19 trim costs ₹6.99 lakh with full battery ownership, so going the BaaS route saves roughly ₹2.30 lakh upfront.
MG Comet EV
₹4.99 Lakh (BaaS)A compact 4-seater built for city driving. Full ownership costs ₹7.63 lakh, so BaaS buyers save about ₹2.64 lakh — though this is also the priciest per-km rental among the budget options here.
Tata Punch EV
₹6.49 Lakh (BaaS)Tata's EV take on the micro-SUV body style. Full ownership runs ₹9.69 lakh, making this the biggest rupee saving among the three Tata cars here — about ₹3.20 lakh upfront.
Maruti e Vitara (Delta, 49kWh)
₹10.99 Lakh (BaaS)Maruti's first electric car. The entry Delta trim normally retails at ₹16.19 lakh with full battery ownership; BaaS brings it down to ₹10.99 lakh — a ₹5.20 lakh upfront saving, the biggest rupee gap here, paired with the highest rental rate on this list.
Hyundai Creta Electric (42kWh)
₹10.99 Lakh (BaaS)Full ownership of the base 42kWh Creta Electric costs ₹18.03 lakh, so BaaS saves ₹7.04 lakh upfront — the largest saving on this list. Hyundai hasn't published its per-km rental rate yet, so there's no breakeven math possible here until it does.
BaaS Price vs Full Ownership Price
💰 The Real Catch: What Battery Rental Actually Costs
Across the industry right now, BaaS rental rates sit in two rough bands: a budget band of roughly ₹2.26-₹2.60/km on Tata's cheaper models, and a mid-range band of roughly ₹3.90-₹3.99/km on MG and Maruti's cars. Most plans also enforce a minimum monthly distance — typically 1,800 to 2,000 km — so even a light driver gets billed for that floor. None of this is a secret exactly; it's just rarely printed in the same font size as the headline price.
The upfront saving is genuine. What the ads skip is the other side of the ledger. Here's the full comparison, using only the figures each carmaker has actually published:
| Car | BaaS Price | Full Price | Upfront Saving | Battery Rental | Battery | Range (claimed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tata Tiago EV | ₹4.69 L | ₹6.99 L | ₹2.30 L | ₹2.60/km | 19.2 kWh | 285 km |
| MG Comet EV | ₹4.99 L | ₹7.63 L | ₹2.64 L | ₹3.20/km | 17.4 kWh | 230 km |
| Tata Punch EV | ₹6.49 L | ₹9.69 L | ₹3.20 L | ₹2.60/km | 30 kWh | 260-275 km |
| Maruti e Vitara | ₹10.99 L | ₹16.19 L | ₹5.20 L | ₹3.99/km | 49 kWh | 440 km |
| Hyundai Creta Electric | ₹10.99 L | ₹18.03 L | ₹7.04 L | Not disclosed | 42 kWh | ~390 km |
Tip: Always ask the dealer for the minimum-km clause in writing before signing a BaaS agreement — it rarely shows up in the festive ad, but it decides whether a low-mileage buyer actually benefits.
To see the rental effect in real numbers, take the Tata Tiago EV — lowest BaaS price, published rental rate, clean math. Assume a fairly ordinary 1,000 km a month:
Tata Tiago EV: 10-Year Cost, BaaS vs Full Ownership (at 1,000 km/month)
At this usage level, the BaaS Tiago EV stays the cheaper option for roughly the first 7 years. Past that point, cumulative rental overtakes the ₹2.30 lakh originally saved. Drive more than 1,000 km a month and that crossover arrives sooner; drive less, and BaaS keeps its edge for longer.
| Car | Battery Rental | Approx. Monthly Km to Break Even vs Full Price (5 yrs) |
|---|---|---|
| Tata Tiago EV | ₹2.60/km | ~1,475 km/month |
| MG Comet EV | ₹3.20/km | ~1,375 km/month |
| Tata Punch EV | ₹2.60/km | ~2,050 km/month |
| Maruti e Vitara | ₹3.99/km | ~2,170 km/month |
| Hyundai Creta Electric | Not disclosed | Can't calculate yet |
These break-even figures are our own calculation from each carmaker's published BaaS price, full price, and rental rate — not an official manufacturer number — and exclude insurance, loan interest, and resale value. Use them as a starting point, not a guarantee.
⚖️ BaaS or Full Ownership — Which Fits You?
Choose BaaS If...
- You drive under roughly 1,000-1,200 km a month
- You want the smallest possible upfront cash or loan
- You expect to change cars again within 3-4 years anyway
- You like that the battery warranty (typically 8 years/160,000 km) rides along with the subscription
Choose Full Ownership If...
- You're a high-mileage driver — daily long commute, intercity runs, or commercial use
- You plan to keep the car for 6+ years
- You want a cleaner resale process — a BaaS car's next buyer has to separately qualify for or take over the battery subscription, which shrinks your buyer pool
- You'd rather pay one flat EMI than track a running per-km meter
There's also a middle ground worth knowing about: some dealers will let you pay a partial upfront amount toward the battery to lower your per-km rate, effectively a hybrid between full ownership and pure BaaS. This isn't standardised across brands yet, so it needs a direct conversation with the dealership rather than something you can compare off a brochure.
Worth checking: several state EV subsidies and road-tax waivers cap out at a certain ex-showroom or on-road price. Because a BaaS car's sticker price is lower, it can sometimes slip under a subsidy cap that the same car's full-ownership version would miss — but this depends entirely on your state's current policy, so confirm it rather than assume it.
Best all-round pick here: the Tata Tiago EV's BaaS deal — lowest entry price, lowest rental rate, and roughly 7 years of runway at moderate usage before full ownership catches up on total cost. A strong first EV or second city car.
Methodology: scored on upfront saving amount, published rental rate (lower is better), and whether a full breakeven calculation was possible from disclosed figures. The Creta Electric loses points only because its rate isn't public yet, not because of the car itself.
How the 5 Cars Compare: Range, Power, Savings & Affordability
🏁 Our Verdict
This Diwali's "massive EV price cuts" are real in the narrow sense that the cheque you write today genuinely shrinks — by ₹2.3 lakh to ₹7 lakh depending on the car. But none of it is free; it's cost deferred onto every kilometre you drive afterward. For light city drivers and first-time EV buyers — especially on the Tata Tiago EV and Punch EV — that trade works strongly in your favour. For high-mileage drivers, or anyone keeping their car long-term, running the breakeven math before signing isn't optional. And for the Hyundai Creta Electric specifically: wait for Hyundai to publish its rental rate before you commit to anything.
❓ Frequently Asked Questions
What exactly is Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) for electric cars?
It's a purchase model where you buy the car without its battery pack. The carmaker or a finance partner keeps ownership of the battery and charges a per-kilometre rental for using it, instead of folding the battery's cost into the car's upfront price.
Is a BaaS electric car actually cheaper in the long run?
It depends entirely on how much you drive. Low-mileage drivers — roughly under 1,000-1,200 km a month — usually come out ahead for several years. High-mileage drivers can end up paying more in cumulative rental than they saved upfront, sometimes within just a few years.
Can I switch from a BaaS plan to full battery ownership later?
This varies by carmaker and scheme, and isn't guaranteed across all five cars here. Get it in writing from the dealer before buying if it matters to you — don't assume it's possible by default.
What happens to the battery rental plan if I sell my BaaS car?
The buyer usually has to take over or separately qualify for the battery subscription, since the battery itself isn't part of what's being sold. This can shrink your pool of buyers compared to a fully-owned EV, which is worth factoring into your resale expectations.
Which electric cars currently offer BaaS in India this Diwali 2026?
Tata offers it across six models (Tiago EV, Punch EV, Nexon EV, Curvv EV, Sierra EV, Harrier EV), MG offers it on the Comet EV, Maruti on the e Vitara, and Hyundai on the Creta Electric. Availability and exact terms can vary by city and dealership, so confirm locally before booking.
Does a BaaS car qualify for the same state EV subsidy as a fully-owned one?
Not necessarily the same amount. Many state subsidies are calculated against the vehicle's ex-showroom or on-road price, and a lower BaaS price could change which subsidy slab or price cap your car falls under — sometimes to your benefit. This differs by state, so check your specific state's current EV policy rather than assuming it carries over automatically from the full-ownership price.
Want to see how any of these five stack up against other EVs on price, range, and real ownership cost?
Compare Electric Cars on Compare EV →